DIY Coastal Easter Eggs

This DIY for my Coastal Easter Eggs is incredible easy and uses only a few materials.  It can be a little bit messy but I think that’s how most egg dying events go down.  I’ll show you all my tips and tricks for making this process as easy and effortless as possible. As well as a quick and easy fix if you mess up any of your Easter eggs!

DIY Coastal Easter Eggs

DIY Coastal Easter Eggs

DIY Coastal Easter Eggs

  • Eggs – the amount is up to you.  I made sure to have a few extra on hand.
  • Glass
  • Water
  • Vinegar – I used white vinegar
  • Paper Towels
  • Egg Dying Kit – I bought one similar to this one at a local craft shop for about $4.

If you don’t want to use an egg dying kit, I’ve included the other materials you’ll need below:

  • white crayon
  • spoon
  • dye

 

 

 

 

You’ll want to start by placing your dye tablet in the glass with 1 tbsp of vinegar.  Allow it to sit for 5 – 10 minutes until it’s fully dissolved. (see below)

DIY Coastal Easter Eggs

While your dye is dissolving take your crayon and begin drawing on your eggs.  *Quick tip* Go over each line of your design 5 – 6 times.  This will ensure your design really comes through the dye.  Once your dye has dissolved add 1 cup of room temperature water to the glass.  The instructions on my kit said 1/2 cup but I found that I didn’t want my dye as strong so I added more water.  Place your first egg in.

DIY Coastal Easter Eggs

I left my eggs in for about 3 – 4 minutes.  When you take your eggs out put them some place to dry.  If you don’t have a kit, I suggest using the egg crate.

DIY Coastal Easter Eggs

 

 

 

 

You may notice (see above) that some of your designs didn’t come out very clear.  I have a really easy solution for this, one that you most likely have hanging around the house. A Tide To-Go pen!  After letting your eggs dry for about 10 – 15 minutes, you can go over your designs with the Tide pen and then quickly dab with a paper towel.  I recommend being very gentle with the Tide pen on the egg because you don’t want to much liquid to come out.  You can see my before/after below:

DIY Coastal Easter Eggs

 

 

 

 

Once your eggs have dried and you’ve fixed any mistakes, you’re ready to display them!  Overall this is a pretty easy way to get that coastal look for your Easter holiday.  One last tip – avoid any designs that are more intricate, i.e. a lighthouse or a nautical flag.  I tried a more detailed sailboat and even with the Tide pen there was no saving it (but that’s what the extra eggs are for!) and you can always turn it around to use it as a blank colorful egg.
DIY Coastal Easter Eggs

DIY Coastal Easter Eggs

 

 

 

 

 

 
DIY Coastal PlanterDIY Spring Home

3 Comments

Filed under Crafts

3 responses to “DIY Coastal Easter Eggs

  1. Pingback: Top 7 DIY Coastal Easter Eggs |

  2. Adorable! Adding to a blog post today for our customers – links back to you.

    Caron

Leave a comment