5 Tips To Effortlessly Add Greenery To Your Spring Entryway

Many of you may not know that I have a bit of a plant addiction.  Actually, most people I meet have no idea, until one day I invite them over and they see the dozens (not exaggerating!) of plants I have lovingly scattered across my home.  As one friend put it, “Holy jungle Jen!”.  This particular friend hadn’t been over in awhile and she wasn’t aware that I had recently discovered how to propagate succulents.  If you’ve never tried propagating, I urge you to give it a shot!  It is highly addictive once you learn which succulents you can pull leaves off of and grow into whole new plants.  Well it was just my luck that this year’s Pantone color is greenery! Recently I was encouraged by Douglas Elliman’s Florida real estate team to share how I would use greenery in my Spring entryway  Check it out:

5 Tips To Effortlessly Add Greenery To Your Spring Entryway

Tip #1 : Sets of Three – This is a decorating rule that’s been around for awhile but it also applies to plants.  Group your plants in sets of three, in varying heights.  If you don’t have plants in varying heights, you can do what I did on the left, and add books to prop up one or more of your plants.

5 Tips To Effortlessly Add Greenery To Your Spring Entryway

Tip #2 Don’t buy all babies! – Keep in mind when shopping for plants, especially if you’re just getting the hang of your green thumb!, that nurseries sell everything from cuttings and babies to more mature plants.  While the cost usually increases with maturity, sometimes it’s worth it if you need a larger plant for a larger space.  Normally when I go to my local nursery I’ll take a lap around before placing any plants into my cart.  It lets me see what all my options are and plan out what I need or am looking for.

5 Tips To Effortlessly Add Greenery To Your Spring Entryway

Tip #3 Lighting – Another thing to keep in mind is the natural lighting in your space.  If you don’t get a lot of natural light in your entryway, you may want to think about a pothos.  I have several and not only are they very easy to take care of but they do well in low light.  An added bonus is that they help purify the air in your home.  Which is part of the reason I have so many!  A good rule of thumb is one air purifying plant per 100 sq. feet of your home.  The two plants shown above are jade, a form of succulent.  Succulents are incredibly easy to care for but usually require bright light.  Also if you find that your entryway is just too dark or you haven’t found your green thumb, there are some very realistic faux plants out there.

5 Tips To Effortlessly Add Greenery To Your Spring Entryway

Tip #4 Put your plant in something unexpected – Air plants (like the one shown above) are a miracle of nature.  You can basically stick them anywhere.  This one I’ve put into a seashell but driftwood is another good option for your coastal home.  Try looking around and see what you already have.  Maybe there’s something you love that you just weren’t sure what to do with it.  Put a plant in it! (haha I’m joking but not really)

5 Tips To Effortlessly Add Greenery To Your Spring Entryway

Tip #5 – Small Spaces – When dealing with a smaller space remember that you can go vertical.  I bought this carved piece of wood (you can’t tell but it’s about 6′ tall!) at Home Goods for around $80.  When I bought it, it was a dark wood with gold leafing but a little primer and a little paint, it soon fit right into my home.  I added wire so I could hang plants on it.  Something I was inspired to create after watching an episode of Fixer Upper!  While this item isn’t in my entryway, it is in a tight space where I can’t have something jutting out.  It works perfectly and would be great in an entryway as well.  You can see a close up below.

5 Tips To Effortlessly Add Greenery To Your Spring Entryway

3 Comments

Filed under Home

3 responses to “5 Tips To Effortlessly Add Greenery To Your Spring Entryway

  1. Pingback: 9 DIY Spring Planters |

Leave a Reply

