Lemon Drop Margarita Recipe

Happy National Margarita Day!!  Why this little holiday happens in February, I have no idea but it’s a second favorite only to Cinco de Mayo.  In honor of said holiday, I wanted to share my Lemon Drop Margarita recipe with you.  It’s a simple and tasty cocktail to help get you through those cold winter blues.  Just remember that with every sip, Summer is coming!

Lemon Drop Margarita Recipe from The Nautical Wheeler

 

There’s something I really love about fresh fruit and cocktails.  Instead of using a fruit flavored liquor, I will chose the real thing every time.  Clearly I’m not alone, if you look through any cocktail recipe book there are tons of fruity drinks listed.  I also feel by adding real fruit it makes it a touch healthier?  Like the vitamin C balances out all the tequila!  I’m not sure how my math adds up on this but real fruit has got to be better than sugar flavored lemon any day.  At least that’s what I’ll keep telling myself…

 

Lemon Drop Margarita Recipe from The Nautical Wheeler

 

This margarita recipe is very simple to make and to prove it, I’ll let you in on a little secret.  I am a terrible bartender.  I have a hard time getting through most drink recipes that have more than three ingredients.  Which is sad because so often I want to make a delicious cocktail that I’ve had in a restaurant or bar.  So believe me when I say that this is a very simple recipe!  If I can make it, so can you.  One of my best friends happens to be an amazing bartender.  No, she doesn’t bartend for a living or even to make extra money.  She’s just a born natural.  She barely needs to look at a recipe (she’s had no formal training!) to whip together something tasty.  I truly don’t know how she does it.  Anyways, on to the recipe –>

Lemon Drop Margarita Recipe from The Nautical Wheeler

 

Ingredients

  • 2 ounces tequila
  • 1/2 ounce Triple Sec
  • 1 ounce simple syrup
  • 2 ounce freshly squeezed lemon juice (about 2 – 3 lemons)
  • Ice
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • Lemon slice for garnish

Lemon Drop Margarita Recipe from The Nautical Wheeler

Instructions

  1. Squeeze lemons and strain out seeds
  2. Add the top four ingredients into a cocktail shaker and shake for roughly 10 – 20 seconds.
  3. Place ice in glass and pour ingredients from cocktail shaker into glass.  (If you’d prefer you can shake with ice and strain instead)
  4. Add pinch of sea salt and lemon slice (optional)

Lemon Drop Margarita Recipe from The Nautical Wheeler

 

That’s it!  Now lay back, relax, and enjoy your Lemon Drop Margarita!

A side note: Adding the salt to the rim instead of in the drink is another, more traditional option.  To do this, while the glass is empty, wipe a lemon wedge along the edge of the glass.  Place salt onto a plate and dip the top of the glass into the salt.  If you’d like to go a step further, you can then place the glass in the freezer so it’s nice and cool before you mix your margarita.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

