Crafted – A Handmade Documentary

crafted 1

I loved this short documentary, Crafted, as a handmade artist I found this film to be so inspiring!  I think one the most important aspects of the documentary is how it gives a glimpse behind the scence from the studio of the artists.  It focuses on the time it takes to make something handmade.  I think this is something that can get lost in our world of drive-thrus and one-stop-shops where everything is ready in minutes.  When we shop handmade, we can’t have everything right away.  There’s a slow-down that leads to an appreciation, knowing that the items were specially made just for us.  “…I care about these [handmade] things and I treasure those things and I make sure that those things are cared for.  And I think that’s why people have become more and more interested in the identity of the things they own.” – Luke Snyder + David Van Wyk

Bloodroot Blades is a two man team, Luke Snyder and David Van Wyk.  They handcraft knives often using found items or a customer’s personal item.  Customers can wait up to 18 months for a blade.  “I think the thing that makes our process really interesting to many people is that it’s so personal.”  “I’ve realized that outside of people, the things that I care about in my life were made by hand.” -Luke Snyder + David Van Wyk

Cortney and Nick of Bar Tartine cook their way through the handmade world using old and new techniques.  In the documentary we see Cortney and Nick cooking items like feta cheese where the aging process can take months and some things even taking years.  “When we make things by hand we can’t have it right away.” – Cortney Burns  Cortney and Nick go on to say that while they could make more money working for larger restaurants, it’s not about the money, it’s about the process.  “I think that there’s a larger appreciation for things that made by hand.” – Cortney Burns

Yuji Nagatani is the last handmade artist we meet.  Nagatani crafts special Japanese pottery called Iga-Yaki, using the same antique kiln since he started.  All of the pottery produced from his shop are handmade and hand painted.  Even during tough times, Nagatani stuck through by getting back to basics and focusing on what mattered.  “…it felt like what I was doing had meaning.” -Yuji Nagatani

What Nagatani said really resonated with me.  As a handmade artist, I find being a jeweler the most rewarding job.  It’s hard not to be proud when you can turn a small piece of metal into a pendant or a ring.  There’s a lot of love that goes into the pieces that I make and I’m sure other handmade artists find this to be true.  When I send out a piece of jewelry, I sent out a piece of me with it.  I hope that my customers enjoy knowing the jewelry they receive is handmade with love!

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration

Leave a Reply

